Team Diabetes

The Speedy Turtle 2017

I am super excited to announce that I am hosting my first ever “Virtual Race”!  What is a virtual race you ask?  Well let me tell you…

Ireceived_10158689211240316n a virtual race you challenge yourself.  You get to choose the distance, the method and the location.  You can walk, run, bike, swim, row, skip, hula-hoop, dance even, for as long as you can.

That is it really… In the end you get a lovely wooden medal for you efforts and support.  I have done several virtual races this year already.  They have motivated me to get and stay moving.  So far I have completed two 10 km races and a half marathon.  I am registering for another half marathon in the next couple of weeks.  These have been through the Hogwarts Running Club. (I have mentioned them before)  Each of them have supported a different charity and the bling has been quite nice as well.  They also gave me the idea to host one of my own to support Diabetes Canada.

As you know, I have been a member of Team Diabetes Canada for a couple years.  To date I have completed three events with them–The Queen City Marathon (the 10 km event) The Good Life Fitness Marathon in Victoria (the 8 km event) and the Calgary Marathon (the half marathon -21.1 km)  It has been an amazing experience.  Seeing other Team D’ers on the course, having people point you out because of your shirt and cheer your efforts, the support from the coordinators, have encouraged me to keep going.  And so putting them together – a virtual race and support for an amazing cause – seemed to make sense.  And so…

The Speedy Turtle – Race to Cure Diabetes 2017 

was born.

I had been asking on the Team Diabetes Facebook group if anyone had done one and I didn’t any response until a month later someone from the east coast reached out and asked if I had made any progress.  She had found a place in her town that cuts them out of wood and thought I might be interested in checking it out.  So I got in touch with them.  So did she as she thought it might be a good idea as well.  We found out that if we ordered a larger number we would get a bit of a cost break so we teamed up, worked on the design together and are now off an running. (so to speak).

Why am I hosting a virtual race… well because I am going to be doing my next half marathon at the Queen City Marathon in September.  Also, new to the weekend this year, I will be doing a 5 km night race as well.  That works out to 26.1 km’s throughout the weekend.  And I can’t wait!  As a Team Diabetes member we raise money for diabetes research, education, and services.  I am planning to raise $500 for the September race.  And you can help!  Here’s how…

If you have Facebook, you can join The Speedy Turtle group. (here) There you will find a form to email me to register.  If you don’t have Facebook, you can email me and I can get you the information you will need.  The cost is only $20 (cad) There is no commitment to a certain distance or mode or venue… it’s all up to you and how much you want to challenge yourself 🙂  The deadline to register is August 15 and all the medals will be mailed out on September 11.  This is open to anyone that wants to participate.

As always, thank you for all your support… cheering or financial or both… it is always appreciated!  Lets race together and end diabetes!  20170528_111803

Have a great week!

 

Jenn

1 thought on “The Speedy Turtle 2017”

  1. So I have not looked at your blog in so long, but you look great my friend! I will be visiting family this Summer for a few weeks…wish we lived closer. Keep up the awesome work. You are an inspiration. 🙂

Leave a Reply

