My Life in a Nutshell...or the Nuthouse!, Team Diabetes, The One Pound Plan

Weigh-In Wednesday ~ Bring It On 2017!

Happy New Year!  Welcome to 2017! 

I can’t believe how fast the past year went by!  It feels like a total blur!  Like a blink and it was gone!  I find that as soon as Halloween is over, the rest of the year (and I’m talking school year here) just flies by!  I told Caleb the other night that he only have 6 months left of Grade 2!  He was actually sad…but seriously 6 months left of the school year!  How is that possible!?  Now back to the calendar year.. I can’t believe it’s January again… it was just January 2016 yesterday, wasn’t it??  Sigh… It wasn’t a lie when people told me that once you hit a certain age, life speeds up!

Knowing that time flies by so fast, I have started training for my 2017 year of races already!

2017-01-03_23.22.19.jpgI decided that I was going to walk 1000 miles in 2017.  So, I figured out that I need to walk 2.73ish miles a day to make that happen.  Now, knowing that I have 3 half marathons (13.1km each), 2 5km’s and a 10km coming up this year as well as several 13km Saturdays planned (once it’s closer to humaine temperatures to walk outdoors in) , I didn’t feel the pressure to hit this number every day.  So my first three days are slightly off the target.  BUT.. then I went and did something to up the game a bit… I signed up to walk 2017 miles in 2017!  Wait, what??  screenshot_2017-01-03-17-01-02.jpg

Yep, 2017 miles! That means I now have to be hitting 5.52ish miles a day! Yikes!  That’s ok though.  I know I can do this 🙂  And it will be so much fun!  Here are some of the other goals I have for 2017:

Exercise Goals:

~ 3 Half Marathons for Team Diabetes: 1 in May (Calgary), 1 in September (Regina), and one in October (Victoria)
~ 2 5km’s: 1 in July (moose Jaw), and 1 in September (Regina)
~ 1 10km: June (Regina)
~ 1 5km Triathlon: This is a maybe right now (Saskatoon)
~ 14 13km Saturdays: 2 a month starting in April and going until October (maybe November if the weather holds up)

Non exercise goals:

~ Get my calories up to 1100 with healthy foods
~ Finish my yarn projects
~ Stick to the budget I started and save money for  some much needed house repairs
~ Get some “coffee shop” plans on paper

In other news, I weighed myself this morning and I was surprised to see that Christmas celebrations weren’t that bad after all.  The down side is I have found some foods that don’t bother my new stomach like I was told they might.  That just makes this whole journey more challenging.  I will have to work even harder to avoid them.  That being said, I have also committed to getting more real food in me.  I have gotten stuck on having shakes instead of planning proper meals.  That’s not a sustainable way to go about this journey.  So, I’ve been more conscious about what to make for myself and it’s been paying off.  I’ve gone from 650 calories a day to almost 975 and I feel better.  I have more energy, and I don’t crave the bad stuff.  I also find that walking this past three days has helped me get more food in as well.  And that brings us to the numbers for today’s weigh in…

Current Weight: 192  
Pre-Op Weight: 282 
Surgery Weight: 247 
Total loss: 90 lbs Pre-op,  55lbs Post-Op!  
Goal Weight: 155-165
To Reach Goal: 37-27lbs

It’s amazing to see that the amount I have left to go is so low!  These last few lbs will be the hardest.  With starting to work out more, I hope to gain some muscle and so I am expecting my weight to go up a little bit before I go down again.  Not by much, but some.  And that’s ok!  Muscle takes up less room that fat so I will “see” the difference first I’m sure.  I don’t have any pictures for today, but am planning some for next weekend-my 5 month surgaversary mark.  I’ll get measurements as well 🙂

It’s been a busy few months in the non-weight related world as well.  I have been yarning like a crazy person!

dsc_0333.jpg
A mermaid tail for my friends little girl for Christmas
dsc_0331.jpg
A shark tail for my friends son for Christmas
dsc_0388.jpg
A pair of slipper socks for my mom’s friend.

The tails I finished on Christmas Eve–talk about cutting it close! Then I did the socks for my mom’s friend this past week. 2017 will be the year of finishing my projects! I have 4 more to finish, so it’s buckle down time for sure!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It is going to be an awesome year!  Happy New Year from our Family to yours!

dsc_0337.jpg

 

This post is in memory of our Fur Baby Oscar.  We had to say goodbye to him in November.  I (as I’m sure the rest of my family does) miss him so much.

img_20161223_221957_221.jpg

5 thoughts on “Weigh-In Wednesday ~ Bring It On 2017!”

  1. I LOVE that goal to walk 2017 miles in 2017.. I bet you’ll surpass it!! 🙂

    I, too, found it to be a big boost to my energy levels when I upped my calories initially from the 600s to the 800s to the 900s. I could do more and felt better. Win win!

    Keep it up!! 🙂

  2. Okay, now the rest…It’s like I was sitting there when you were planning your year! 😉 And… (Now I’ll sound like a grandma!) my those kids are growing! …And ‘surgaversary?’ Lol is this the new in-word I’ve missed? 🙂 But it’s all going well and that’s the thing.

    1. Haha.. Yes, they are growing way too fast. 🙂
      Surgaversary is one I keep hearing on Facebook in a bariatric group I’m part of. So, yep, new in-word for sure 😉
      I’m on the lookout for new music to keep you distracted though… I’ll find something! 😉 hahaha…

Leave a Reply

