My Life in a Nutshell...or the Nuthouse!

Weigh-In Wednesday ~ And Other Stuff Too!

I am way behind on getting my updates out… sorry.  It has been a busy month thus far.

My 6 week appointment was on September 28th and it went really well.  I am happy to report that I am now allowed to eat what ever I would like as long as my tummy will handle it.  The not so happy news is my tummy doesn’t allow much yet.  But I’m working on it.  I try to eat different stuff every day to test the waters.  Most of the time I think I just eat too fast or take to big a bite and it upsets everything.  So, I have some learning to do.

Weight: 226 lbs

Loss since surgery: 21 lbs

Loss overall: 56 lbs

Those numbers were on the 28th at my appointment.  I think I am now down to 219 as of yesterday morning (October 11th) which works out to 28 lbs since surgery and 63 over all.  I’m happy!  Things are going well.  Now if I could only get back into the swing of a work out!  Ugg..

I’m tired all the time.  I’m averaging 650 calories a day (65 g protein) and I can’t get more than that.  I feel sick if I try.  So, at the end of the day, the last thing I want to do is walk on the treadmill.  But, I need to get it done!  I just have to get moving.

In other news… a Non-Scale Victory from the weekend… I went to South Dakota with my mother-in-law, sister-in-law and the kids to see my other sister-in-law and her family.  While we were there, my mother-in-law and sister-in-law picked up some new clothes for me.  I am humbled and grateful for this amazing gift.  The feel of clothes that fit make all the difference in the world–so says my sister-in-law.  I look in the mirror not and can really see the difference.  One of the pairs of pants they picked up was a size 15.  I put them on, got them up but couldn’t do them up.  No biggy… I’m in a 16 and that’s still fantastic since when I started my jeans were 24’s!  The kicker about those pants was they were JUNIORS!!!  I couldn’t believe it!  I was wishing they had a bigger size in the juniors that I could try on… how awesome would that be to tell people… “Yeah, I’m buying kids cloths again 🙂 ”  hahaha… The shirts we picked up were only a 1x size… down from 4x before surgery.  They both said it wouldn’t be long before I’m in just a LARGE.  Here’s hoping it happens before Christmas 🙂  One day at a time though.

Lets talk YARN for a minute!  I am up to my eyeballs in purple Grape Fizz (Red Heart Supersaver) making mermaid tail blankets for Christmas.  I have 4 to make.  Once those are done, I have 2 shark tails to make.  Good times!

Sick-day Yarning
Grape Fizz overload!

I have decided that all gifts this year will be handmade.  I may have started too late though… Sigh… Next year I will start in June!  It might go faster if I was listening to Christmas music while I am yarning.  Brian might not like that though.  He thinks it’s still too early for “that noise”.  I say as soon as Christmas stuff starts showing up in stores, Christmas music should be enjoyed as well… that was August this year.  🙂

Well, I think that is all I have to report… Until next time… Have a blessed week!

PS:  You will notice I didn’t share an updated picture this time.  I did that on purpose.  My next follow up is on the one year mark of when I joined the program.  I will share one at that time.  🙂  

15 thoughts on “Weigh-In Wednesday ~ And Other Stuff Too!”

  1. Jenn, I am SO proud of your hard work and how far you’ve come!!! Remembering back to the days of my stomach surgery which had similar results to your surgery, I remember the frustration of wanting to eat, and not being able to for such a long time. And when I finally could, I was only able to eat a couple of bites before feeling sick. Patience and time, time and patience!!!

    As for the treadmill…set tiny goals every day – 5 minutes every hour with 15 minutes at night, or something similar. It’s the consistency that will win you over, so make it small to start and you’ll have it done in no time. You amaze me every day with your grit and determination – I know this is just one tiny obstacle you can overcome.

    I am super excited about your new wardrobe!!! There’s nothing better than getting new clothes, except maybe for having other people buy them for you!! LOL…what a generous loving gift that was! It’s such a thrill to see those sizes dropping, so congratulations my friend and enjoy every single one of your triumphs!!! Love to you!!

  2. Lol, you know I defo noticed as lbs mean nothing to my tiny brain and am I too lazy to Google it? Yes. I admit it! Don’t judge me! But I’m patient. I’ll wait for the pics. Must say it has been a pleasure and a wee bit of an honour to be able to follow your journey and ask all the dumb questions I like to ask. it’s been fascinating. But that’s blogging for you.

  3. Hooray for new clothes that fit! Don’t you just feel sassier knowing you’re wearing smaller sizes? I definitely do! 🙂 I remember the days of 650 calories and struggling to get protein in… this too shall pass. I ‘snuck’ in protein everywhere I could with the plain powder and (though I wasn’t always happy about it) prioritized protein over everything else… meaning sometimes I had a premier protein shake (160 cals, 30g protein) over a cup of soup or vegetables that worked out to be the same calories but way less protein. You’ll figure it out! 🙂 🙂 🙂

    1. Oh yes… I feel so much better now that I have clothes that fit.. more confident for sure 🙂 I have seen those Premier Protein shakes.. are they good? I have a trip coming up this weekend, I might grab a couple to save me from snacking.. and to keep the protein numbers up 🙂

      1. Yes! They’re really good. I’m a fan of the vanilla, caramel, and banana. They’re cheaper at Sams/Costco than anywhere else. Hard to beat the amt of protein in them. Go for it!

      2. We only have chocolate and vanilla here I think… But I’ll have another look when I go to Costco 🙂 Thanks for the tip 🙂

      3. I hope so…we seem to miss out on some good stuff up here. I was just in South Dakota and found Pumpkin Pie Greek Yogurt… I’m in LOVE!!! I may need to make a run for the boarder next weekend to see if I can find more… Hahahaha..

      4. Same here.. we get stuff forever later than all the ‘big cities’. Like, when I was in Utah last week, they had pumpkin spice muscle milk protein shakes in a 4-pack and I was so, so disappointed I wasn’t there for long enough to buy a pack and drink it! I did get the chocolate mint ones though and they were awesome. Probably never have ’em again! lol. Pumpkin greek yogurt sounds pretty yummy… I’ll have to look for it here.

Leave a Reply

