My Life in a Nutshell...or the Nuthouse!, The One Pound Plan

Weigh~In Wednesday ~ Welcome to Hill Day #1

I haven’t actually weighed myself since May 4th when I had my last check in for my GBS program, so I really have no idea where I’m at pound wise and that’s ok.  My clothes continue to get bigger and I’m seeing some shape changes so it’s all good!

The last couple of months I have been walking with a small group of wonderful ladies!  We don’t walk together every day, but we are in contact every day encouraging each other and spurring each other on.  One thing that came up a while back was to try some Hill Walking at a park in town that has a nice sized hill.  Today we made it happen!

It doesn’t look like much.  Seriously, there is a wide gravel road that goes to the top, and from there you can take some smaller bike trails down and around to the back.  Once we got to the top, I took a couple pictures and noticed I wasn’t even out of breath…yeah me!  I’m in better shape than I thought!  And then I met the Back of the hill!!!

We followed the trail down and around and then back up again.  It was slow and easy going, not much effort at all.  Once we got to the back of the hill we decided to take the path down… straight down!  One of the ladies I was with suggested we might follow the trail back around the bottom and back to the front and keep walking for a bit, but NOOOO, I suggested we turn right back around and walk back up the way we came!  That’s when I realized I’m not in as good of shape as I dreamed I was!  hahaha…. half way up I had to stop and catch my breath, my knee ached, my breathing was out of control… if I was alone I might have turned around and walked back down and taken the path AROUND the hill to my car!  But seeing my friends made me keep going.  I straightened back up and pushed on.  When I got to the top I thought my knee was going to explode off my leg and my heart was going to fall to the ground at my feet.  We carried on.  Walked back down the nice wide gravel road and walked for another half hour before heading our separate ways to start our day.

What did today do?  It lit a fire!  I will be doing that hill again next week and I will be pushing past the pain and the lungs exploding until I can make it to the top with no effort at all!  I’ll beat it!  Then I’ll keep going until I can do it more than once in a visit!  Yep, it might not be Mt. Everest, but I will conquer it!

What “Mountains” are you conquering this summer??  Whatever it is, You got it!

dsc_0005.jpg
My Mt. Everest this summer!
2 thoughts on “Weigh~In Wednesday ~ Welcome to Hill Day #1”

  1. I am loving this! I really wish that I had places like this to walk around me. You are really blessed! I am glad that you pushed past the pain in your knee and chest to accomplish your goals! How amazing my friend! I just am so proud of you 🙂

Leave a Reply

