My Life in a Nutshell...or the Nuthouse!, The One Pound Plan

And So It Begins…

Heading home after my race in Victoria
Heading home after my race in Victoria

November 18.  A normal day for most people.  For me, it will be the beginning of a journey I have been waiting for more than two years for.

The next six months will be an amazing time of learning and growing (and hopefully shrinking too!)  On November 18 I meet with a team from the Bariatric Clinic in preparation for Gastric Bypass surgery.  But here’s the most amazing part… I will be learning so many new things as I get ready.  How to eat, what to eat, how to set and meet goals, how to take care of myself mentally.  I am almost more excited about this 6 month process as I am about having the surgery.

The surgery is only one piece of this puzzle.  It is not a magic thing that will instantly make me skinny and love myself.  It is a tool that I will be able to use to help get me to my healthy self and successfully stay there.  The bigger part of it all is the learning that will happen before.  During an information meeting last week, we (myself and about 19 other candidates) we told, quite bluntly I might add, that this surgery is NOT a cure for being over weight.  The only thing they will change is the size of our stomachs.  The rest if up to us.  I couldn’t agree more.  The disciplines and habits we develop over the next 6 months will be what make us successful.

I have already started tracking my food and water intake.  Exercise programs are next on my list to tackle.  Life has just gotten a little bit busier as I am taking on another job–my third–during the week.  So I have to look at my schedule and see where I can make the time to get some walking/weight training in.  It has to be structured and planned otherwise it won’t happen.  I know that about myself already.  I read somewhere that your work outs should be scheduled like you make appointments for dr.s or coffee dates with friends.  You always make time for those, so this should be no different.  Time to invest in a planner (again) I think!

My biggest tools in all of this will be prayer and support from family and friends.  So far I have been blessed in all of these areas!  I’m very thankful for that.  Every day will be a struggle.  My love of food and being lazy will surely challenge me every step of the way.  It’s all about choices and remembering why I am going through this process…one day, and one prayer at a time is what it will take!

Have a great week!

3 thoughts on “And So It Begins…”

  1. Jenn, I am so excited for you and for this journey ahead. I will definitely be praying for you. I know you have everything it takes to be successful at this .I also know that God is with you, every step of the way, so don’t be afraid to reach out to Him and honestly share what you’re going through.

    Looking forward to your updates!!

    Pam

Leave a Reply

