My Life in a Nutshell...or the Nuthouse!, The Road Home

I Give Up! ~ Lent 2015

1273640

For Lent I am giving up being an Adult!  I want to go back to being 6 years old…not a care in the world, all day to play on the weekends, I was only limited by my imagination and everyone was my friend…even if they were boys (they gots germs!) If only!

Seriously though, Lent is a time of year to give up things that stand in the way of me and my relationship with God in order to get ready for Easter and the day of the Risen Lord!  These days, it feels like everything is in the way.  My kids, my job, my brain, my humanity!  I have a bible sitting in the kitchen counter that actually has dust on it!  That is terrible!

I have decided that instead of giving up things, I’m going to TAKE UP things!  I am going to turn the TV off earlier in the evening and take up my bible!  I’m going to pray while I do dishes or when crocheting.  I’m going to sing songs with my kids more.  I’m going to MAKE room intentionally for my relationship for God.  They say it takes 21 days to form a lasting habit…Lent is 40 days long.  I am a couple days behind but I still have plenty of time to make all these LASTING changes!

So, what about you?  What are you going to Give Up or Take Up for this season of Lent?  May you be truly blessed during this time!

Leave a Reply

