My Life in a Nutshell...or the Nuthouse!, The Road Home

One Word ~ Perseverance

I read a post from a blog I’ve followed for a while about whether a single word can change your year.    In it she challenges you to choose a word that will help shape your year if you aren’t  a resolution  kind of a person.  I have to be honest, thinking of one word was harder than coming up with a cheesy list of things I  resolve to do this year…haha… So, to help come up with ONE word, I made my list to see if I could find one that was a common thread that tied them all together, here is what I came up with (in no order of importance):

  1. Finish old projects
  2. read more-Bible first then other books
  3. set up a plan to get back into working out
  4. plan menus
  5. BUDGET!
  6. start my business plan
  7. laugh with my family and friends
  8. treat myself better
  9. smile more
  10. take more pictures (a project in mind)
  11. date nights
  12. pray
  13. journal

There are so many more I can come up with I’m sure if I spent a few days writing all my thoughts down.  But there is a brief list.  As I look at it I can think of one word…PERSEVERANCE.

The dictionary defines perseverance as “steady persistence in a course of action, a purpose, a state, etc.,especially in spite of difficulties, obstacles, or discouragement.”  I have no doubt there will be some obstacles and even discouragement but if I can hang on to this word, I believe I will make it through it all and come out on top at the end of 2015!  

I have even decided on a passage for the year that I am sure will help..

Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance.  Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything. ~ James 1:2-4

And so, the year is begun.  I am hopeful that it will be a great year of change and encouragement.  When 2015 ends I will be able to look back and say I was able to accomplish a lot…and I wasn’t alone!

 

Have a great week!  Happy Wednesday!

5 thoughts on “One Word ~ Perseverance”

  1. Awesome, Jenn! And one of my favorite verses, too. It is going to take some perseverance to create some new habits for me this year, so I’ll be persevering along with you. God’s blessings on your 2015!

Leave a Reply

