Darn Yarn & Stuff Like That

NaKniSweMo

When I worked in the dorm, there was a girl who took part in NaNoWriMo (National Write A Novel Month). Every November she would become one with her laptop and type out a 50,000 word novel.  I used to think she was crazy!  But I loved to watch her carry on conversations with people around her and focus on the screen and type away all at the same time.  I admired her dedication to this project.  Did she ever do anything with her stories?  I don’t think so, but I believe she has done at least 4 of them.  I will have to check in with her to see if she is taking part this year or not.

Over the years I have heard of people starting projects of 50,000 stitches or more and working on them for the month.  I have never taken part because I have always had a project on the go when November rolls around.  Well, not this year!  I am happy to say that I may be jumping on this crazy train and working on a project for NaKniSweMo ~ National Knit a Sweater Month ~  for the first time!

As I still have some time to work out the details, I will start looking through my “dream list” of projects and figure out what I will work on and pickup all the supplies.  After the kids go to bed on October 31, I will make my “yarning corner” of the couch ready for the November insanity.  Clear out the storage box of everything I don’t need and put all my supplies in it…scissors, yarn, measuring tape, pattern, pens/pencils, extra needles (in case I lose one between the sectional pieces…it’s gone then!), high lighters and a darning needle or two.  Then on November 1 I will begin!

I hope to post daily my progress but I may not share what I’m doing…I might find a way to make it a surprise 🙂  We’ll see.  I might be too tired to go to all that trouble!  hahaha…Either way I’m looking forward to it.

So, there you have it… Until November 1… have a great day in Yarn Land!

Leave a Reply

