My Life in a Nutshell...or the Nuthouse!

The Proof is in the Pie

I made my first ever fresh pumpkin pie.  I found this kit at Wal-Mart.

wpid-20141007_095721.jpg

…and thought I would give it a try.  After all, I was in charge of dessert for a dinner party last night  and it’s Thanksgiving weekend so pumpkin pie it will be 🙂

You have two pumpkins…

wpid-20141007_100151.jpg
Smells Fresh

And you cook ’em…

wpid-20141007_104803.jpgThen your kids pull them apart and separate the seeds from the guts…with parental supervision of course (thanks dear husband of mine!)…

borrow a food processor from your sister-in-law and take an hour and a half to figure out how to use the darn thing, only to come up with a lovely sloppy gloppy mess…I mean there were pumpkin guts EVERYWHERE!

wpid-20141007_204220.jpg

Add the rest of the ingredients…condensed milk, 3 eggs, a pinch of salt and some pumpkin seasoning … and voila!  you have… pumpkin soup?

wpid-20141007_205401.jpg

Pour in your handmade…right from the Pillsbury box…pie shell and back … for EVER!

wpid-20141007_205754.jpg

When it’s done, you can be as surprised as I was that it didn’t burn, blow up or smell bad… and enjoy the glorious creation known as Pumpkin Pie…aka..Whip Cream Plate!

wpid-20141008_110756.jpg

I can report that it tastes just as great as it looks!  We enjoyed this wonderful work of gourmet art last night at my friend Cindy and Ryan’s place.  MMMmm MMMmmm Good!  Not bad for my first ever home made pie!

I am sure we will be having more pie over the weekend…it is Thanksgiving after all…I hope you have a wonderful weekend! What’s your favorite part of Thanksgiving Dinner?  Do you make your own pie?  What are you most thankful for?

Cheers…Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

