My Life in a Nutshell...or the Nuthouse!, The Road Home

My Other Birthday

June 9, 2002

You might be scratching your head and wondering what is going on, but this post is the continuation of He Knew from April 17th.  I ended with my decision to be baptized.  And now….The rest of the story

It wasn’t too long after that Easter service that I decided to get baptized.  I grew up in a home that knew the bible but was never baptized as a child because my parents wanted us to make that decision when we were ready to.  When I decided I called home and told my parents what was going to happen and asked if they would come and be there for it.  Initially they weren’t able to come out.  But then my dad called and said he had a ride with his brother, Jerry, who drove truck back then.  I was so excited!

The hardest was getting through the day….I was going to have to speak in front of a church full of friends, family and strangers!  I don’t do public speaking.  I get nervous, turn red, stutter and get emotional…this was going to be VERY emotional for sure.  I was also a little nervous about the mic possibly falling into the tank …. yikes.  I stayed up late the night after night writing and re-writing my testimony.  It was so hard!  How much do you share, how long does it have to be, WHAT do I share….eek.  I wanted to make sure to included scripture that meant something to me and my baptism (hence the picture above)  I chose Psalm 116:12-14–It said everything I wanted to in a short, powerful phrase.

June 9th….baptism day.  My birthday as a Christian.  We (others being baptized and myself) met with the pastor the night before to go over how it would all work out.  The tank was empty at that time, but we were assured it would be filled and WARM for the next morning.   As we all got changed into our bathing suits and gowns, I wanted to throw up.  I was so nervous!  It seemed like EVERYONE in Calgary had come to church that morning…goody!  The worship team sang songs, played music and then it was time.  I honestly don’t remember when I went because there were a few of us, but when it came to be my turn, I almost fainted.  The tank was full and FREEZING COLD!!  I heard later there was a problem with the heating system or something.  Anyway, I gasped through my testimony.  I had to take my glasses off so I couldn’t see anyone, which kind of helped.   When I finished, the pastor took one of my hands and placed his other hand on my back.  He thanked me for sharing and then asked me to confess that Jesus was my Lord and Saviour …and then in one swift motion I went back into the water….and then back up.  The words “And all God’s people said” were met with a loud “AMEN” from the church and applause.  It was FINISHED!

I can’t even begin to explain how this all felt.  Being under the water, for that split second, seemed like an eternity.   Coming up again and taking that first breath was…amazing.  I took it in with new lungs, it filled my new body.  My eyes saw everything fresh and new.  My ears heard everything new.  I was NEW!

Jeremiah 29:11 says….

He knew I would be in church that Easter Sunday.  He knew I would give my life over to Him.  He did have plans for me, and He still does.  I’m 12 years into a journey  that began with an invitation.  I offer the same invitation to you today.  You don’t have to be perfect, I wasn’t.  You don’t have to have it all figured out, I didn’t.  You just have to be willing to accept His plan for you.  I can PROMISE you, you won’t regret it!  I haven’t 🙂

 

Have a blessed day!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

