My Life in a Nutshell...or the Nuthouse!, The Road Home

Trying To Be Mary In A Martha Kind Of A World

To some this title might seem a bit odd.  To others, it might hit home.  Either way, this is where I find myself today.

As they continued their travel, Jesus entered a village. A woman by the name of Martha welcomed him and made him feel quite at home. She had a sister, Mary, who sat before the Master, hanging on every word he said. But Martha was pulled away by all she had to do in the kitchen. Later, she stepped in, interrupting them. “Master, don’t you care that my sister has abandoned the kitchen to me? Tell her to lend me a hand.”

 The Master said, “Martha, dear Martha, you’re fussing far too much and getting yourself worked up over nothing. One thing only is essential, and Mary has chosen it—it’s the main course, and won’t be taken from her.” ~Luke 10:35-42 The Message

I spend a lot of time running around getting things done.  Washing dishes, doing laundry, going to work, bathing the kids, doing home work.  I rush around and feel like it’s as never ending battle to keep ahead of the daily machine known as “Life”.  I read this passage and my heart aches to be like Mary.  I want to stop and sit at the Teachers feet and listen to Him speak.  Instead I see myself in Martha’s complaint of “Who has time to sit around”.  I also hear Him rebuking me and calling me “chill out! Stop and focus on what is important.”  Yes, I think He would totally say “Chill Out” to me…hahaha….

My kids will never develop a relationship with Jesus if I’m not working on mine.  The dishes will be there when they go to bed, so will the baskets of clothes that need to be folded.  And the homework?  It’s always there.  They need to be seated at His feet with me.

I want to Mary in this Martha world.  Soo, with coffee in hand I’m taking a seat at His feet and listening to what He has to say to me today…won’t you join me?

2 thoughts on “Trying To Be Mary In A Martha Kind Of A World”

Leave a Reply

