My Life in a Nutshell...or the Nuthouse!, The One Pound Plan, The Road Home

Made To Crave: Devo Notes

I have decided to re-read a book I picked up called: “Made To Crave: Satisfying your deepest desire with God, not food” by Lysa Terkeurst.  I started to read it initially for an online bible study through Proverbs31.org.  Like most things I start, I got sidetracked and didn’t finish it.  However, I find myself in a place where I know I can’t do this alone.  I need more than just my willpower to make these changes in my life.  I need God-power.   I have been looking through my past blogs and I have talked about the need for prayer and a strength that comes from somewhere outside myself.  But somehow I seem to always rely on my own steam…ugg…it’s a nasty cycle.  So, I will work through this book and share my feedback.  A little side note…I will also be updating on the other book I am reading “The Unapologetic Fat Girls Guide to Exercise and other Incendiary Acts” by Hane Blank.  I haven’t read it much lately but I will be picking it up again as well 🙂  Lots of reading coming up for me I think.  And for those of you who know my LOVE of reading (said with the most sarcastic tone I can muster in typed form) this in itself will be a challenge!  hahahahaha…

Let us begin…Introduction & Chapter One:

Getting healthy isn’t just about losing weight…It’s about recalibrating our souls to WANT to change–spiritually, physically, and mentally.  And the battle really is in all three areas.’ ~Emphasis mine.

Spiritually:I had to ask God everyday to give me the desire to be healthy.”  Sometimes wanting to change isn’t enough.  The WANT to change has to be deeper than vanity.  It has to come from a place we don’t automatically have the power to draw from.  Asking God to give me the desire to change will then give me the strength to make the changes I want to make.

Physically: ‘When I began this journey, I finally had to admit the truth that what I eat matter.  My weight is a direct reflection of my choices and the state of my health Well this is a no brainer.  I am what I eat!  Make bad choices, I have bad results!  Simple as that 🙂  When I am eating better I feel better.  When I feel better I feel motivated…and so on.  The same can be said when I don’t at very well…I don’t feel great.  I feel defeated and guilty. I quit.  Hmm…

Mentally: ‘I had to decide I was tired of settling, tired of compromising….Honestly I am made for more than a vicious cycle of eating, gaining, stressing…eating, gaining, stressing…I am made to rise up, do battle with my issues and, using the Lord’s strength in me, defeat them–spiritually, physically, and mentally–to the glory of God.’ There is more to this whole getting healthy thing than just waking up tomorrow with a plan and prayer.  I have to DECIDE that I’m ready to get this going, seek the DESIRE to make it happen and then meet the battle head on!

How lovely is your dwelling place, O Lord Almighty! My soul yearns, even faints, for the coursts of the Lord; my heart and flesh cry out for the living God.~ Psalm 84:1-2

The dictionary defines cravings as ‘something you long for, want greatly, desire, beg for’.  When I read this definition I can see those traits in the verse from Psalm 84. Lysa says in her book “we eat what we crave”.  This journey is, as mentioned above, as much a spiritual journey as it is a physical and mental one.  In order to gain from the strength God is providing me (and that I desire so much)  I need to “eat” from His word.  Be fed from the fountain of hope rather than a bag of despair like potato chips.

Jesus tells Satin, who was tempting him after a 40 day fast in the desert, that “Man does not live on bread alone, but on the word of God”.   I am coming up to my 40th birthday.  Now, not the same as fasting for 40 days, I have not been very kind to my body in those 40 years.  Drinking, smoking, over eating–all things I have craved and some things I still do.  This journey MUST start with the Word of God.  A full, four course meal from the only one who can give me the Food I need to survive.  Jesus tells a Samaritan women, whom He met at the well, that the water from that fountain will cure her thirst but it will not SATISFY her.  I don’t want to just feel fed and watered, I want to feel SATISFID.  SO, from now on, while planning my “meals” for the weekly menu plan, they will include daily scripture reading so I can feel that fullness promised by living on the Word of God.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

