My Life in a Nutshell...or the Nuthouse!, Team Diabetes, The One Pound Plan

Life*

17a489a2e2300ba65bd412901bebce3d

So today I had an “emergency” appointment with the dr.  Emergency meaning I call yesterday to make the appointment as soon as I could get in.  Last week I thought I had a migraine and missed work.  (I may or may not have mentioned this in a previous post–Memory great just short!) It didn’t go away and it didn’t get better.  In fact a couple of nights I was awaken from, what seemed like, a good sleep by a stabbing pain in the top of my head.  It would then dull down to a steady throb and sleep would cease to exist for the rest of the night.   Add my shoulder and life has been one big painful party!  🙂  Yesterday I decided I would check my blood pressure.  I did this because back when I had Miss Abi, my blood pressure went through the roof for some unknown reason and stayed there for over 6 months.  I had a hunch it was back up again.  I was right.  It was 165/98.  I don’t know much about medical jargon, but I do know that’s high.  Hence the “emergency” appointment this morning.

If you have been following my blog over the past year, you will have read update after update on my “One Pound Plan”, how far I had been walking that day, about the food I’ve been eating.  I have shared weight losses and gains, measurements and pictures.  All of this to help keep me on track.  Sharing keeps me accountable.  If I have to report it I’m less likely to do something that will stall my progress (not so with my bad binge day a couple weeks ago) I will admit that in the past few wintery months my progress has slowed, but not come to halt.  I’ve been tracking my eating and menus and making changes where I need to.  I have gone to the gym a few times but the winter sucked the workout drive right out of me (not an excuse) You have read posts about training for Team Diabetes and my excitement about doing a half marathon event half way around the world!    I am doing this do I can be healthy.  So I can be around when my kids graduate or have babies of their own.  I’m doing this so my husband isn’t a retired widow by the time he is 65!

I was talking to my friend Becky last night and I told her that before I went to the gym I was thinking “What’s the point!  I don’t like the way people stare at the fat girl on the bike, I don’t like the way I feel about my self when I’m there”  But I went anyway.  It felt good afterwards and to be honest, I didn’t even notice anyone staring…in reality they were all there for the same reason I was…they were just at different points in their journey.  The problem was with me alone.  But that’s another post for another time.  The point is I got the answer to my question today.

My blood pressure in the dr.’s office was 156/100 (again, not sure what the numbers mean but I know it’s high if not worse than yesterday).  The dr put me on blood pressure medication for the next three months.  I cried.  Because even though I haven’t given it 100% I am still trying in little ways.

For the next month I have to check my blood pressure every day and keep a record.  We will then see what’s happening and go from there.  She is hopeful that after three months of working hard and getting back on track I won’t need the meds anymore.   She also said that this may be a genetic thing and not related to anything I’m doing or not doing (goody–I love the challenge to change something that can’t be changed) This sounds lame and silly, based on everything I heard today, but at the moment, I just want to cry, sleep, snuggle my babies, drink my coffee and forget about all of it.  But I know better than that.  That won’t happen.  Well, snuggling my babies and drinking my coffee will for sure.  But I’m not going to give up!

I am going to talk to a trainer at my gym.  I’m going to sort out a plan with Brian so I can go to the gym (maybe even get him active somehow as well) WE are going to set up menus that work and are enjoyable and stick to them.  I only get one chance at this.  I don’t have time to wait until tomorrow.  For today, I will take it easy, think about plans — even write some stuff down.  Tomorrow?  It’s On Like Donkey Kong!!  (Thanks for reminding me of that saying Miranda!!)  In three months, unless it is genetically impossible to fix, I will be medication free!

SO, get your running shoes on, put the coffee down (tomorrow, enjoy it today) and lets get moving!  The One Pound Plan is back in action!  Training for Team Diabetes is back on track!  No more bad Fattitude!  This is going to be FUN!!!  🙂 🙂 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Life*”

  1. Hope you BP comes down. Keep moving forward and make life changes that will get you closer to your goal. Your kids will learn from you and hopefully not fight the same battles. As far as health goes you are right we only get one chance at this but we can also undo damage by making positive choices.
    Love you dear friend this is attainable.
    Bonnie

  2. It IS on like Donkey Kong!! (EXCELLENT use of that phrase!! 😀 ) I know you can beat this blood pressure thing. I’m so sorry for your migraine, but I’m glad that it’s inspired you. I can’t remember if I said this before, but my dad died at 47 from diabetes… it took something like that to make me realize what your first picture says so eloquently: you only get one life, and you’ve got to live it up! I have faith you can do it! 🙂

    1. Thank you 🙂 I’m starting to feel a bit better. The headache is hanging around a bit though so I’m making another appointment to see if the meds are working. I’m feeling confident though…it’s going down! 🙂 Thanks again for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

