The Road Home

All You Have To Do Is Knock (repost)

It seems like an eternity since we last spoke.  The season has begun its change from the warmth of summer to the moist chill of autumn. The trees that once danced with their green leaves in the warm breeze of June have been replaced with empty branches that move stiffly in the cool wind of the new season.  I feel like it’s been a million seasons since we last spoke, or even laid eyes on each other.  Where have you been?

When you left it was hard to let you go.  As the days grow shorter, My hope of seeing you again has begun to fade.  Watching you walk away was one of the hardest things I have ever had to do.  The next hardest thing was not to run after you.  I didn’t run.  I wanted to.  Everything in My being told Me to go, but My feet wouldn’t move.  They were like useless stumps that had no life in them.  They fought My will and I let you go.  Will you ever come back?

There have been nights I have wanted to hear your voice but My ears met the silence of the dark.  I wanted to reach out to you and know that you were there but My hands and fingers fumbled with the lifelessness of the night to find nothing.  There was a time when I would have given up everything to have you back.  That became a fruitless wager as I have given everything and still you chose to go.  Will I ever have you close again?

In the days when you were here, we walked, talked, and were silence in each others company.  It was as if the warmth of summer would never end.  There were times that I didn’t need to hear your voice to know what you were thinking, and it was joy to My heart to know you that well.  You shared everything you were thinking with Me.  You shared your dreams, fears, wants, needs, and hopes.  There was nothing you kept from Me.  Will we ever have that again?

I long to have you back again.  To have you here and to have that closeness that we once shared.  There is nothing you can do to make Me stop loving you with all that I have.  You are a part of Me and I am a part of you and there is nothing that can change that.  What I gave for you paid your debt in full, there is nothing left to hide or run from.  I want to know where you’ve been.  I want to have you back.  I want that closeness.  You are the only one that can make that move.  The door is never locked.  When you get here, I will greet you at the door.  All you have to do is knock.

(Photo courtesy of http://www.photosofchurches.com/anglesey-llantrisant-old-church.htm)

Leave a Reply

