Team Diabetes

Team Diabetes ~ Not Ready To Give Up….

 

 

logoDear Friends

On May 25, 2014, I can predict that my day will be somewhat different from yours.  I will be participating in the Edinburgh Half Marathon as a member of Team Diabetes Canada.

This is how I see our day matching up:

4:00am: ME: Can’t sleep

                 YOU: Can sleep

5:00am: ME: Getting Dressed while humming the “Rocky” theme.

                  You: Still Asleep

6:00am: ME: Wander hotel hallways looking for other “wound up” athletes.

                  YOU: Asleep: snoring, mouth open and drooling (very pretty!)

7:00am: ME: Going to the starting ling with the team on the quietest bus I have ever been on.  We begin to fidget and eye the bathroom at the back, poised to make a break for it.

                  YOU: Asleep:  being elbowed I hope!

7:30am: ME: Heading to the starting line.  Last chance for the potty.  (This is more competitive than the race!)

                  YOU: Asleep: A pillow being placed on your head

8:00am: ME: The race starts: I place myself in the back near the rookies.  I find only a few in the 3,000 participants.  Am I in trouble?

                   YOU: Asleep: 2 pillows

9:00am: ME: Still fresh: Gee, what beautiful flowers

                  YOU: Rolling over, smelling the coffee.

10:00am: ME: Not so fresh: starting to get a little tired and hungry.

                    YOU: Making brunch selections while wiping powdered sugar off your face

11:00am: ME: The race was won long ago and mine is just beginning.  Feeling fresh is a faded memory.  Gee, where am I?

                   YOU:  Sorting through the papers…sports, then funnies, circulars, then a brief glance at the front page…priorities.

12:00pm: ME: I can do this, I am doing this for people living with diabetes, the Canadian Diabetes Association and for me!

                     YOU: Changing into your weekend ‘duds’ thinking of all the things you don’t have to do today.

12:30pm: ME: I DID IT! There is no immediate burst of explosive glee as I plod across the finish line.  I feel and incredible sense of purpose that will grow in the days ahead, once my body stalking to me civilly to me again.

                     YOU: Sitting down to watch the 1st of 2 sports games. Remote tightly clutched, food conveyor belt from the kitchen is warming up…

(These times may be slightly different and your day may not be exactly as described above but I can assure you, there will be a significant difference 🙂 )

Why am I doing this? There are 2000 reasons, and here are 4…

1. The Edinburgh Scotland event is a challenge to conquer.

2. I want to raise money for diabetes research.

3. Cindy Crawford donated all her proceeds from her bathing suit calendars to charity. Since I don’t have a bathing suit calendar – guess I’m running!

4. I look good in pain, soaked in sweat. No, actually it’s good for me.

Where do you fit in? You can invest in me and support me in the following ways:

1. Make a donation to the Canadian Diabetes Association ($25, $50 or more would be terrific!)

2. Not doing any of the following things EVER! (‘OK’ – sometimes)

3. Sabotaging my training by offering me soda, fast food, cookies, etc. Not nice!

4. Asking me “Isn’t that a lot of work?” Not funny!

5. Asking for photographic proof of me finishing the race. Not pretty! However I’ll give it to you if you really want it 😉

I hope you will support me in my efforts to help people with diabetes live life without limits.  To donate please click on this link.  Your donation, no matter how big or how small will make a difference!

Again, thank you to everyone who has donated so far…it’s a long road to Edinburgh (or where ever my fundraising takes me) but together we can get there!

 

2 thoughts on “Team Diabetes ~ Not Ready To Give Up….”

  1. I LOVE this! Somehow, you almost… almost… make me want to do a half-marathon. The first time I ran one, I was so utterly exhausted on the last mile that I just wanted to cry (& could not for the life of me remember why I thought running 13.1 miles sounded like a good idea)… but even being that exhausted, I still felt a burst of joy when I crossed that finish line.
    I’m sure finishing will feel even more meaningful for you because you are doing it for such an important cause! Even if it doesn’t end up being Edinburgh in 2 months, I KNOW you’ll cross that half-marathon finish line! We’ll all be cheering for you when you do! (although some virtually, perhaps) And I promise not to demand photographic proof. 😉

    1. 🙂 Thank you for the encouragement …. I feel so wrong saying this but I can’t wait to run the half…where ever it might be 🙂 It will happen…taking it one step at a time 🙂 Thanks for cheering and encouraging!

Leave a Reply

