My Life in a Nutshell...or the Nuthouse!

Sun Dogs

image
Sun Dogs-that little partial rainbow near the sun…lovely to look at but only warns of COLD weather on it’s way

Sundogs are commonly made by the refraction of light from plate-shaped hexagonal ice crystals in high and cold cirrus clouds or, during very cold weather, these ice crystals are called diamond dust, and drift in the air at low levels. These crystals act as prisms, bending the light rays passing through them with a minimum deflection of 22°. If the crystals are randomly oriented, a complete ring around the sun is seen — a halo. But often, as the crystals sink through the air, they become vertically aligned, so sunlight is refracted horizontally — in this case, sundogs are seen.–Wikipedia

Did you see that little but powerful phrase “during very cold weather“?  Well I took this on my way to physio this morning while I was waiting for a train to pass….hence all the cars in front of me.  Clearly my windshield is in need of a cleaning…hahahaha… Well, it is cold today!  Not as cold as they are calling for this weekend.  Apparently there is a rumor it will be in the -50’s with the wind chill all weekend!  My friends to the south?  That’s around -58F!  Apparently I’m going home from work tomorrow and not coming out again until work on Monday morning!  Apparently I will be in my PJ’s all weekend with my kids and cleaning house, watching movies, doing crafts, drinking coffee…napping when I can.  I might even get some baking done!  Hey any source of heat will be more than welcome!

The bible describes hell as this place of fire and heat….apparently who ever wrote that never spent a winter in REGINA!  Yes, I’d say this IS Hell and it HAS frozen over!  OK, now that a lightening bolt is on it’s way, I better get to planning my indoor weekend.

Apparently I like the word apparently today…who knew.  If you are anywhere near this Polar Vortex this weekend please stay warm and safe.  If your in warm weather…well, I’ve got nothing for ya!  just jealousy!  You know who you are!

 

3 thoughts on “Sun Dogs”

  1. Oh Jenn, you have a way with words that brings a smile to my face. It is so cold and it has been such a long winter, but spring will come, because it always does. And flowers will bloom and grass will grown up from this very frozen earth we are walking on and with it will come refreshment.
    love you dear friend.

    1. Awww..I can smell my lilac trees already 🙂 if they survived the cold 😉 love you too my friend. It has been a very long winter…and your right, spring will be here sooner than we know it 🙂 Hugs!

  2. That’s fascinating. I’d never heard of sun dogs before (or diamond dust ice crystals, which sound pretty awesome)- it looks beautiful, I’m just sorry it has to come at the expense of such freezing weather! (On the plus side to encouraging a lightning bolt… at least it’d warm things up!!)

Leave a Reply

