My Life in a Nutshell...or the Nuthouse!, The One Pound Plan

Cravings

Crave

OK, so the purpose of this post is because I am fighting cravings of chocolate, Pepsi, chips, popcorn, COFFEE, ice cream…basically anything sweet, fatty, salty that I shouldn’t be eating at the moment.  I am trying to stick to a very good menu plan that I started yesterday and am doing fairly well, until now!

Why can’t I give those things up!?  Why, when I set out to actually make some headway in my eating do these “attacks” happen?!?  I have never been through a detox program before, but I can imagine it’s not much different…you want something you can’t have…I feel like I could crawl up the walls right now!  It’s just silly!  Really, it is.  SILLY!

Eat Safe

Some quotes I’m reading from my bible study “Made to Crave”

“But he said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my strength is made perfect in your weakness’; Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weakness, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.” 2 Cor. 12-9

“Because of Gods great love, we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail.  They are new every morning; Great is your faithfulness.  I say to myself “The lord if my portion, therefore I will wait for him.” Lamentations 3:22-24

The Lord is my portion!  I am made strong through Him…I cry as I  read these because I feel sooooo weak!  It’s just one of those days.  One of those fights I will have for a long time.  I was told once that cravings last about 20 minutes.  If you can occupy yourself for that amount of time, then you can win.  They will get fewer and shorter, but the first ones are the hardest.  I hope this is true…I really do how this is true.

Other than this little (although it feels like the life is being sucked out of me) blip in my day, it’s going rather well.  It’s been snowing lightly and it’s warmed up lots.  I get to see a good friend this evening and  we will have a great visit.  SO, Happy Wednesday all….thanks for listening to my rant…How do you fight the cravings?

On a side note…anyone know a really good tasty protein powder I can use?  I have been using one from U-Loss but its really expensive.  I have yet to fine one that’s as good as theirs…thoughts?

6 thoughts on “Cravings”

  1. Jenn, i love your honesty in this struggle. I hear you, but you are making good changes. I am trying as well, keeping a journal of what you eat and maybe how you are feeling when you have these “consuming” cravings might help you recognize what else is going on. You can do this. We can do this!

  2. Cravings are SO difficult! Especially when the weather is nasty, and food seems to act as a mood-booster. I agree with the picture you posted- I have to keep all crave-able food physically out of my house, or I’ll binge eat entire (family-sized) bags of chips in one sitting! Eek! It’s not pretty. I’m going to try the distract yourself for 20min thing next time I start trolling for chocolate. Great suggestion!

    1. Yeah…the day didn’t end well…hahahaha….I went home and there were some sour cream & onion chips left out and well…they are gone now…thankfully there was only like 2 cups worth left so not a total loss! But they were sooooooooo good! Back at it today 🙂

Leave a Reply

