My Life in a Nutshell...or the Nuthouse!, The One Pound Plan

Dr. Appointment Follow-up

Injury

Well I saw the dr. this morning about my sore shoulder.  It’s been bothering me off and on for a few months.  I have pain from my left shoulder down to my elbow and sometimes my hand feels numb.  On a good day I have a constant nagging pain and it’s uncomfortable.  On a bad day I can’t pick up Abi or pour milk from the jug …and forget about crocheting when it’s bad.  Over the past couple of weeks it has gotten worse and so I thought I should get it looked at.

Here’s the funny part of the conversation:

DR.: How old are you?

Me: 39

DR.:  Ok, it’s not unusual for this kind of injury to pop up at your age

HAHAHAHAHAHA….I knew I was getting old before my time!

So…the injury: Rotator Cuff Injury or Repetitive Movement injury.  Solution:  the first of many will be Physio.  I have to go back in a month and to see how things are going.  If at that point it’s not getting better, although he is sure physio will make a world of difference (so am I) than I may have to be referred to a surgeon to see what they think and possibly get an ultrasound to make sure there isn’t anything else going on.

So on to find a physio place in town to go to and get this thing cleared up.  I might take advantage of my visits and ask about proper training for running too 🙂  We shall see.  I really hope it doesn’t come to surgery…however, knowing the way things go in my life…I wouldn’t be the least bit surprised!  For now I have to learn to rely on my right hand/arm for some things…like holding my coffee cup (yep, some days drinking coffee hurts).  I feel quite positive about it for now though 🙂

Happy Tuesday all!  Have a great rest of your week!

4 thoughts on “Dr. Appointment Follow-up”

  1. Darn, sorry to hear about your shoulder. I hope physio does the trick, thats too bad.. Constant pain is no good. My mom has early RA and deals with chronic pain in her joints daily. Makes me sad for her and you…

    Best of luck to you!!!

  2. Oh no… I’m so sorry about your troublesome shoulder. Although I imagine it feels better to at least have an answer about what it is. (NOT “it’s your age”… that’s not an answer that EVER feels better!) I’m with you and keeping positive well wishes that the physio will work on its own!

    1. Thank you…I was telling my friend on the weekend its been injured drinking too much coffee…hence the repetitive movement part..hahaha. yes…I’m happy to know there may be a way to get it back to somewhat normal without amputation 🙂 hahaha….old age…he kills me! Hahahaha…

Leave a Reply

