Team Diabetes, The One Pound Plan

The Workout Plan

image

So, this is my new workout program.  What do you think?  🙂  This picture was posted on Facebook with an ad for Curves Gym.  I thought it was cute!

Well…I went to my gym last night and met with one of the trainers.  It wasn’t at all what I thought it would be.  And when I asked before hand, I was told that each time varies based on how many people have signed up to meet with her.  There were 4 of us in the group.  We did a little workout using our bodies as weights…I have a lot of weight to use that’s for sure!  It felt really good!  We did some push-ups, donkey kicks (that’s what I call them) and side leg lifts (she described it “like a dog peeing on a tree” and that’s what it looks like!  HAHAHAHA).  We did planks where we were doing a plank and then had to reach out with one hand and high 5 the person across from us…that hurt! Squats, abdominal leg lifts and so much more and finished with some good stretching. After we were done we had a chance to ask questions.  That was it.  Needless to say I still feel a little lost as far as what I will be doing for a strengthening  plan, but I will figure it out.  When I am back from our regional retreat next week I will start building a work out.  It can’t be that difficult right?  if you have any suggestions about a work out using typical gym weight machines (free weights scare me at the moment) please feel free to share 🙂

I am slowly chipping away at this book,  “The Unapologetic Fat Girls Guide to Total Exercise and Other Incendiary Acts” by Hanne Blank”, and have come to another piece worth sharing.  She give 25 sample goals that are designed to “let you have regular doses of victory along the way” to your major goal.  I was able to chose about 14 of them that would work for me but am slimming that down for now and will add more as I meet the first few.  Here are the ones I have chosen:

  1. 1. Use a pedometer and track your average daily movement for a week.  Then, each day the following week, see if you can hit that earlier average number of steps plus 500 more.
  2. Choose an exercise video and give yourself a month to work up to being able to do the entire thing from beginning to end.
  3. Learn 2 stretches you can do at regular intervals during the day, and mark off the calendar whenever you do them.  See how long a stretch of unbroken days of stretching you can get on your calendar.  When you get to one hundred days, give yourself a prize!
  4. Learn three upper body strength exercises and do them three times a week for a month
  5. Sign up for a charity walk.  Raising money for a good cause and increasing your activity level at the same time is a great combination! Team Diabetes Canada!
  6. For a month, commit to not letting more than one day go by without some sort of physical activity.  If you didn’t move yesterday,  MOVE IT TODAY!
  7. Just  for today (or any day) get up and walk around while talking on the phone
  8. Plan a vacation that incudes sightseeing or touring on foot, bike, ski, canoe, or otherwise under your own steam.  Train up so you can enjoy that vacation to the fullest! 

I am going to ad one from a good friend of mine.  She committed to and finished 320 days of workouts.  I felt so inspired by her accomplishment that I am going to give it a try myself.  I will keep in mind these mini goals as I go and cross them off along the way and add more.  I’m excited to give this a try, BUT, I know it won’t be easy in the beginning.  I have to confess, I almost didn’t go last night because I “was tired”.  Like I said in an earlier post…I am LAZY….well, that changes now!  I’m looking forward to seeing the changes along the way and sharing them with you!

Well…

image

Have a great weekend … It’s warmed up rather nicely here so I am planning on taking the kids outside tomorrow!  YEAH!!!  It seems the Deep Freeze is over…for now!  Get out and enjoy it while it lasts!

5 thoughts on “The Workout Plan”

  1. Yah!! Thanks for the mention…(actually I just assumed it was me…) you have done such a good job so far! I wish I was working out with you, I could give you a high five in a plank position. I would totally fall but that’s ok:) have a nice weekend, and keep up the good work!

    1. You bet I was talking about you! I am so excited to hear about your results by the way! I wish we could work out together….I did fall over on the plank high five….hahaha…but it was still good! Hugs my sweet friend…love you!

  2. I love your goals, and it sounds like the personal training will be a great step in your weight loss journey. I truly enjoyed learning from my trainer! P.S. my trainer called side leg lifts “fire hydrants” lol, I thought it was the weirdest thing ever, but they work!

    Good Job!! You are doing great!

Leave a Reply

