My Life in a Nutshell...or the Nuthouse!, The Road Home

December 1, 2013~The Countdown Begins

I am, as always, late getting our Advent Calender set up.  It will most likely make it to our wall by Monday or Tuesday,  after I get the goodies to fill it with.  But the calender isn’t what has me excited this year.  This year I’m going to make a real effort ro share with my kids the real meaning of Christmas…I don’t want them to grow up thinking its all about getting stuff. I want them to know about the Giving part of it all. 

I don’t mean going shopping and getting stuff to give…I mean giving something you can’t buy….hope.  To give hope means,  to me,  to give from your heart not from your pocket.  That being said…sometimes the hope you give a person costs you something monetary. ..sometimes it costs you time.  Either way,  I want my kids,  my family, to experience MORE this Christmas than Santa 🙂

I want to add here that I do not think Santa is bad,  in fact I’m excited to see their faces on Christmas morning….

Day 1: The virgin will conceive and give birth to a son, and they will call him Immanuel”[a] (which means “God with us”). Mat 1:23

Jesus was born to give his life for mankind. To give of ourselves is the least we can do, this tine of year especially….

I leave you with this challenge….
image

Let the countdown begin….

2 thoughts on “December 1, 2013~The Countdown Begins”

  1. Such an important thing to remember at this time of year (and always)! I love the Pay It Forward Challenge! My grandma was at the supermarket this past week, and a store employee brought a beautiful potted plant over to her saying that a Good Samaritan had paid for it & wanted her to have a wonderful holiday season. It was the nicest gesture and inspired my whole family to pay it forward. Thanks again for the reminder! 🙂

Leave a Reply

