My Life in a Nutshell...or the Nuthouse!

November 25, 2013~That helpless feeling

You know that feeling you get when you want to help but you don’t know what you can do so you just sit there feeling bad?  Well that was last night in our house.  My poor boy is not feeling good again–his eyes are leaking snot stuff, his nose is stuffy/runny, and his cough is back– and he still doesn’t want to eat…even though his tummy is growling and hurting him he won’t do it.  Now, I think he might have a tooth infection–one reason he may not be eating I realise now.   All I could do last night was to ask him over and over what I could do or get for him to eat and all he would say way “nothing, tummy hurts”.  I wanted to cry.

It’s so hard to know what to do for him.  He has come so far in the past couple of years with his speech and we have maybe put so many things to the side to focus on that.  Looking back it ALL should have been worked on.  Now we will play catch up with all the other things we missed–potty training (disaster at the moment), eating, writing his name and letters…yikes, now I feel like we are starting at step one all over again.

It was a long night with very little sleep and a whole lot of stress and worry.  I know I shouldn’t be stressed or worried.  I know that even though I feel alone in this I am not.  There is a lot of support around me and most of all God …. I just feel so helpless.  I don’t like to see him in pain or sick (no parent does) And I know I’m not the only mom that has kid issues…not by a long shot!  But today, I just don’t know what to do anymore.  We are going to the Dr. again this afternoon and I’m going to push to have him checked out really well…blood work if need be, and see if there is any help for his eating issues.  He was getting in the bath this morning and he looks so pale and SCARY skinny!  I almost lost it (kind of like right now…sorry for the typos…)

Anywho…thanks for listening/reading… I just don’t know what to do anymore….but pray we find answers or that he just starts to eat.  Will keep you posted …

Have a good week all!  We are never alone!  God is just a whisper away

2 thoughts on “November 25, 2013~That helpless feeling”

  1. I’m so sorry to read this, Jenn. That is such a terrible feeling not being able to do anything to help. I hope the doctor was able to provide some answers and that your little one is eating again. I’m sending hopeful thoughts your way.

    1. Thanks Miranda…its been a tough day but am feeling better where things could be going. More antibiotics…not much eating at all…but we will get help. I’ll be making more calls tomorrow. Thanks for the encouragement and thoughts too…very much appreciated. ..have a good night

Leave a Reply

