My Life in a Nutshell...or the Nuthouse!, The One Pound Plan, The Road Home

Today

image
The Legislative building this morning at the beginning of our walk

So it’s another Tuesday….another weigh in…its looking better let me tell you! So let’s get to it…
Weight: 267
Next goal: 266
I was happy to see my scale decided to move in the right direction this morning!   I thought I was going to have to send it with the garbage if it was going the other way…it lives for another week 🙂 I know it’s not the scales fault….but like I said before..it feels good to blame anything but myself 🙂 
This week I tried to make good food choices.  It was still easier to get a burger and eat an entire bag of popcorn or a pan of emergency dessert…but it was also easier to turn down second helpings of pasta salad,  potato salad or to not have any chips.  I feel better about this past week and where I’m heading this week. 
I have been thinking its time to step up my weekly goal goals…make sense?   So I have made a short list for this week….

Weight: down 1lb
Menu: come up with a tasty menu with healthy variety (we have a student living here now so no more boring stuff!   Yeah! ) 
Eating: healty portion sizes…have to look them up
Water: drink more
Coffee: drink less 😦
Homework: JUST DO IT!

I think thats a good place to start.  Next week I’ll see where I’m at. 

On a totally different subject…and so I’m not doing multiple posts today (this one will just be long…sorry)  I’m struggling today.  This is the second September since Western closed and I still feel this huge hole where that life used to be.  Working in the dorm…even though I wasn’t perfect at it…was the best job I have ever had.  I miss the crazy days of RA training and getting the dorm ready.  I miss the stomping,  yelling,  running,  screaming teens that filled the dorm around this time.  I don’t just miss the “job” part I mostly miss “MY” kids.  It wasn’t always easy going…when would living with 30 or so teens ever be…but we learned and grew.  I also miss the staff I worked with.  We have all moved on to different places but I think of you all often!   So many great,  and not so great,  memories.  As a new school year begins I pray you all do well and are truely blessed!

It’s also no secret I would rather live on Vancouver Island,  closer to my family.  I have even been in contact with a private school that was looking for a Girls dorm director and would have gladly made the move if it were possible.  But, this where God has me.  I’m thankful for my job,  my family,  my kids and my health.  God really is good and even though I don’t understand,  right now,  why this one prayer is going unanswered I’m sure I will be able to look back and see why later.  Until then my prayer should,  and will,  be to feel content where I am and to trust that He has it all under control…and I know he does. 

And so until next time…

The Lord bless you    and keep you;25 the Lord make his face shine on you    and be gracious to you;26 the Lord turn his face toward you    and give you peace.”’

~Numbers 6:24-26

3 thoughts on “Today”

Leave a Reply

