The One Pound Plan, The Road Home

I need my eyes checked

For you created my inmost being;
you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
your works are wonderful,
I know that full well.
15 My frame was not hidden from you
when I was made in the secret place,
when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.
16 Your eyes saw my unformed body;
all the days ordained for me were written in your book
before one of them came to be.
17 How precious to me are your thoughts,[a] God!
How vast is the sum of them!
18 Were I to count them,
they would outnumber the grains of sand—
when I awake, I am still with you. (Psalm 139: 13-18)

Oh to have the eyes to see myself this way.  Yesterday I had a bad self-image day.  I was out at a store and happened to catch a look at myself in a mirror.  I felt ill!  I did not like what I saw.  I didn’t like my hair, my skin tone, my posture, my clothes, my ankles!  NOTHING!  I didn’t like any of it!  It took everything in me not to cry right there.  I held it together until my walk this morning with Pamela where I let it all out!  Poor girl….she’s amazing!

By the end of our walk I was feeling better.  I don’t know if I will ever “Like” how I look.  I wonder if I will lose all this weight and still see me as I am now.  My hope, as I make the journey to a better lifestyle, I will also get a better head set.

While I was driving to work this verse came to mind and a voice that asked me…”who’s eyes are you looking at yourself with?  I made you, I love you and you are perfect because I am perfect!”  There it is….I am perfect because HE is perfect!  I don’t know how many times I have told friends that GOD DOESN”T MAKE JUNK!  And it’s true!  I guess I need my eyes checked…and this verse helped me with that.  This health journey I am on is also a spiritual one.  I have been given a body that is “fearfully and wonderfully made”.  Now to SEE it that way!

Have a good week folks!  New weigh in tomorrow!  And possibly some BIG news (no I’m not having another baby! hahaha)

 

Blessings!

Leave a Reply

