The Road Home

I’m Waiting….

So this morning my walking buddy, Pamela, is out of town.  The overwhelming urge to stay in bed and not walk was quickly pushed away by my dog who woke me up at 4:55 to go out.  Brian took him out and told me to go back to sleep.  Do you think that would happen?  Nope!  My alarm, which is set to go off Monday to Friday at 5, went off and that was it.  I was awake.  When Brian came back with Oscar and said he didn’t even do anything, I knew I was going walking!

So I got up, made an egg and turkey bacon wrap, laced up my walking shoes got Oscar ready to go.  Once we had both eaten and had a drink of water we were off like a terd of heardy durttles (that’s for my dyslexic friends by the way!)

As I walked out the front door I was reminded of something my aunt told me on Friday….it’s better to just get up and keep the routine than to skip, your day just won’t be the same…and she is right!  This weekend my dad’s brothers and sisters gathered in Courtenay BC to say good bye to his sister Susan.  She passed away from cancer a while ago and they were putting her ashes to rest this weekend.  I sure wish I could have been there.  But, life is what it is!  I’d like to think if I had been home my aunt and I would have gone for some walk…maybe even drag some of the others with us!  Maybe another time!  But I said a prayer for them all this morning on my walk.   I hope their time together remembering Susan, and Jerry (who also passed away from cancer) would have been a good time and lots of fun was had by all!

Being that I have never walked around my area before I decided the best plan of action was to walk 1.5 miles in one direction and then walk back, giving me 3 miles.  So we set out.  I kind of had a goal in mind but didn’t know how far that would be so we just walked in that direction and enjoyed the morning.  For those of you who know Regina, we walked down 7th Ave. and ended up at A.E. Wilson Park.  We took a short tour of the park and then headed home.  It worked out to be 3.25 miles when we got home.  I felt really good.  Along the way I was inspired to pray for my friends and family.  So, I started.  It turned into a ramble about how stressed I am about my health, our finances, the kids, the house…everything but my friends and family!  Then something happened….

2013-07-01 06.04.34As we took the path at the park and were headed back home I looked up and saw this amazing sight!  I instantly felt like God was saying “Good Morning” and telling me not to worry about any of the stuff I had been rambling about!  It was breath taking.  I was no longer concerned about MY stuff and was thankful for everything I have…especially this moment to see God’s display!  My prayers went on for my friends and family as well as asking for strength to make this life change I NEED to make.  I felt like things were going to be OK!  How could they not be with Him on my side!

As I continued to walk home, I suddenly started singing a song in my head.  I have been thinking about it a lot lately.  It just seemed to fit this morning.  So, my last thought for today is to share the words to the song with you.  If you can find it on YouTube or somewhere to listen to it, you should!  It’s a great song!  Have a great day folks!  Happy Canada day!  Safe travels for my family as they return to their homes from, what I hope was, a happy fun weekend!  Love you all!

 

I’m Waiting

Song by John Waller (lyrics from www.lyricsmania.com)

I’m waiting
I’m waiting on You, Lord
And I am hopeful
I’m waiting on You, Lord
Though it is painful
But patiently, I will wait

I will move ahead, bold and confident
Takeing every step in obedience
While I’m waiting
I will serve You
While I’m waiting
I will worship
While I’m waiting
I will not faint
I’ll be running the race
Even while I wait

I’m waiting
I’m waiting on You, Lord
And I am peaceful
I’m waiting on You, Lord
Though it’s not easy
But faithfully, I will wait
Yes, I will wait
I will serve You while I’m waiting
I will worship while I’m waiting
I will serve You while I’m waiting
I will worship while I’m waiting
I will serve you while I’m waiting
I will worship while I’m waiting on You, Lord

Leave a Reply

