The Road Home

Eat, Pray, LOVE!

Some of you might be thinking I am going to write a book review…well to do that I’d have to have read the book.  Nope,  sorry to disappoint you,  I’ve never read it.  But the title reminds me of another book I am currently reading…The Bible!
Since my journey began I have fallen away; been distracted from the goal by life…having babies, buying a house, starting an new job…but lately I have found a new strength to get back on track and start the journey all over again. Eat, Pray, Love has given me an idea for a different kind of review all together… here it is…

Eat! “He humbled you, causing you to hunger and then feeding you with manna, which neither you nor your ancestors had known, to teach you that man does not live on bread alone but on every word that comes from the mouth of the Lord.” (Deut. 8:3) Who doesn’t like to eat! I love eating. It’s one of my biggest struggles. I eat everything! (within reason of course) I eat junk food because I’m bored, angry, stressed, tired…breathing! One thing I have been learning though a bible study I have been doing is that none of this stuff will ever FILL me the way I need to be filled! I need to feed on God’s word and promises instead of chips. I need to drink in His love for me instead of coffee or Pepsi. The “manna” from God is way more filling than any of that other stuff. Today I resolve to Eat all I can handle of God’s word!

Pray! “Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.” (Phil. 4:6) Another of my struggles is to trust God. I read a devotional last week that asked the question–“God, are you enough?” When I thought about it, my answer was always–“Yes, but…” It’s the BUT that trips me up. I can’t say “yes, you’re enough” and then add a but! That BUT means He really isn’t enough. I don’t think it’s an easy thing for anyone to stop at just YES. I always have a BUT to add. I always need something more than what He has at that moment. I long for the day I can just say…YES YOU ARE ENOUGH!!! No matter what else is going on in my crazy world!

Love! “He answered, “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind’; and, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’” (Luke 10:27) Love. It’s a 4 letter word I take for granted. Something that always strikes me whenever I say I love someone is “How have I shown them that?” Even when I tell my kids I love them, do they really know? Or do they hear the word and have no idea what it really means in relation to them. Love should be an ACTION word. Anyone can say they love someone! How can I show them? God showed me by giving up His Son to death so that I might live. There is NO DOUBT in that action of how much I am loved by God! I don’t need to ask how He loves me after that display. Shouldn’t I be willing to do just as much for my kids? For my neighbor? At the very least, I should love everyone the way I’d like to be shown how much I’m loved.

I pray that you Eat all you can eat of God’s word, Pray until your knees ache (and then pray some more), LOVE like your life depends on it!

Have a blessed week!

Leave a Reply

