The Road Home

Would you dance in your underwear?

Today’s reading was from 2 Samuel 4:1-6:23. In there I found a funny story of David dancing in his underwear before God. I laughed because of the mental image I got while reading the passage. 14 Wearing a linen ephod, David was dancing before the Lord with all his might, 15 while he and all Israel were bringing up the ark of the Lord with shouts and the sound of trumpets. I can see it all now. Dancing like a crazy person because he is so happy to have the presence of God in his town.

Would you dance in your underwear? I might vacuum in my underwear if no one was home and I had no clean clothes…but I’m not sure I would dance…especially in front of so many people. But is that because I’m ashamed of the way I look? Yes. Is it because I’m not as outgoing as I think I am? Yes. Or am I afraid of what people will think of my celebrating God in this way? YES! If I’m honest…yes. Today people don’t get crazy for God the way they did in the bible times. Especially the way David did. I’m not saying that all Christians are afraid of showing their faith in radical ways…that’s not it at all. I’m also not suggesting we get together and have a party for God in our underwear…come places might have laws against that. But why can’t we (I) show our faith more boldly than we do. We sing in church, make our offerings, have fellowship with our church friends and speak openly about our faith (or lack there of) but how many of us actually step out and celebrate God in our towns, work places?

When I first became a Christian, I told EVERYONE at work about what had happened at Easter service with my friend. When I decided to be baptized I told EVERYONE what I was doing on the weekend it happened and I didn’t care what they thought. I have had amazing conversations with a friend from another walk of life and faith. We have shared both our hearts for our faith boldly and we didn’t criticize each others beliefs. What has changed?

I know a lot of people who don’t fit this problem. They are on fire and have no problem showing it. Everything they do is for God and you know it to see them in action. I know people who can talk to their co-workers about their faith and God fills them with the words that need to be said and they are heard. I know people who display their love for God everywhere they go… and get great conversations about it when they do. These people are the Davids’ in my world. The ones who would more than likely dance like a crazy person if God were to come to town…not sure about the underwear part, but dance for sure… At the end of the day, I want this spirit. I want to be able to dance and be crazy for God…no matter what people might think. I was once.. It’s time to get back to that.
I will celebrate before the Lord. 22 I will become even more undignified than this….

Quotes from Biblegateway.com 2 Samuel 6:14-22

Leave a Reply

