The Road Home

Step By Step

Not only was that a hit song by New Kids on the Block back in 1989, (I knew all the words and sang along loud and proud), but it’s how I view my relationship building with God.  One step at a time.  Lately, however, the steps have all seemed to go backwards.  I have not been reading my bible as I had planned, prayed as often as I would like, shared my faith as boldly as I could, or trusted in God entirely like I should.  In fact, I’m stuck in this rut and feel like there is no way out most of the time.   But it doesn’t have to be this way.  I have made a lot of successful attempts to change things in my life so far, this can be one of them…I just have to take the steps!

One of my accomplishments was overcoming my love of drinking.  I didn’t drink to hide anything, run away from anything..I just loved being drunk.  I would take what ever chance I could to get that way and stay that way for as long as possible.  It took a lot of effort and work, but in the end it was my reliance on God that helped kick the bottle to the curb.  Reading a bible study I found a passage that stopped me dead in my tracks.

John 4: 28: 28 Then, leaving her water jar, the woman went back to the town and said to the people, 29 “Come, see a man who told me everything I ever did. Could this be the Messiah?” 30 They came out of the town and made their way toward him.  

One of the questions on this study was “why is it important to know that she left her water jar?”  I wasn’t sure of the answer until I read the next question, “Have you left your water jar with Jesus?”  She was at the well to fetch water, Jesus offered her LIFE giving water!  She didn’t need it anymore….neither did I.  It was the most freeing God experience I have ever had!  I have not had a drink since. I will not deny that the struggle is still there from time to time, but this verse always come to me and I can make it through…

Another accomplishment was in making the move here to Western.  I wanted to go to school to learn how to share my faith with youth.  They are the future and if I could get them hooked on God and growing in a relationship with Him that would be awesome!  I felt called to do it, I just didn’t know how.  Western offered an opportunity to help me make that happen.  I quit my job and gave up my apartment (my parents wanted me to wait until I had all my financing in order first) and packed up to leave.  The day I left I hadn’t heard about my student loan.  I had to stop by my old apartment and they handed me my last bit of mail and there on top was my loan approval!  God had come through and I knew I had made the right choice!  Off I went!  7 years later I’m married to a wonderful man, have an amazing (although soft spoken) kid, and another on the way….God’s plan so far has been awesome!

Knowing all the ways He has been there for me and provided for me, why can’t I make the steps I need to keep growing?  I guess the only answer I can think of is I just have to keep starting over until it sticks!  I know He doesn’t expect me to be perfect.  But He does expect me to keep trying.

The theme verse for my blog, John 10:10, is a good example of how I feel about my progress…

10 The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.

The thief–Satin–will do what he needs to make sure I don’t have time to read, feel inadequate to pray or share, and steal my faith in God…if I let him!  The promise in the end is to be my focus….to have LIFE and have it to the FULL!  So, once again, I begin tomorrow!  But not before praying before bed tonight!

I hope you will find the strength to overcome your struggles, make choices that take you outside your comfort zone and into God’s hands, and comfort in a FULL LIFE!

God Bless and Good Night!

 

Leave a Reply

