The Road Home

The Results are in…

So after almost no sleep last night I went to my Dr. appointment this morning…one of my good friends came with me for support.  I knew it wouldn’t be a good appointment when the nurse said that my friend should probably come in the exam room with me.  So, without mincing any words..here it is..

I had taken a blood serum test to see if my baby would be at risk for Down’s Syndrome or Spina Bifida this past Saturday.  Normally there are two blood tests done and they compare results to see if there is a risk.  Well my first test was enough for them to make the call.  As of right now I am at high risk of having a baby with Down’s Syndrome.  What does this mean?  Well it means I might have a baby with Down’s Syndrome.  I have been referred to a Dr. who specializes in high risk pregnancies who will then schedule the next round of tests that include a special ultra sound and possibly an Amniocenteses. I will more than likely stay with him throughout the rest of my pregnancy as well.  This is just a risk…he or she might have nothing wrong at all…but the tests help prepare for the “what if” side of things.  He or she will be greatly loved and cherished no matter what happens…I can’t wait to meet this little bundle of joy!

How am I doing you ask?  Surprisingly enough I am at peace with it all.  Knowing is half the battle right.  Now we know there might be something coming up and we can begin to learn about it and prepare how ever we can for the future.  God is in control, He knows my heard and my fears and will help us through this every step of the way.  I am very scared as I have no idea what to expect, I am sad because no one wants to hear news that there is something wrong, but above all, I am at peace.

I trust you God…and am waiting to see where this adventure will take us!

2 thoughts on “The Results are in…”

  1. Heart, prayers, love and support. All here for you. Love you all my friend, and you are right this little bundle will be waited for and loved.

Leave a Reply

