My Life in a Nutshell...or the Nuthouse!

Encouragement when I just don’t feel encouraged…

So I was planning my devotional for the kids tonight and remembered that I had promised to do something “fun”. So, I planned a game. Great..Devo done…NOT! I felt empty about it. So I started thinking about something I could tack on after the game that might give the kids something to think about…then I remembered…they need to be encouraged..just like I do. I did some digging on ye old internet and found some passages that actually helped encourage me as I was working…I’m going to share them…but first, an update…

Just over a week ago we (the school) were told that the school would be closing for good at the end of this school year. That’s a hard notice to swallow. I have been here for 7 years, it’s a big part of my life. I met my husband here, we had a baby and have another one on the way. This job–Dorm Director–was supposed to be a great job to stay at home, raise my kids until they went to school and maybe even take a class along the way. Now, that plan is gone. I feel totally confused. I really felt that this was the way it would go…that it was God’s Plan. Now what? I thought God didn’t change his mind…or maybe I just assumed this was it and ignored God altogether. I don’t know anymore. But I feel very uncertain of things to come and unsure of my faith in Him to help me through this. On top of all of this, Caleb has stopped using his signs, still isn’t talking and has gone back to the yelling and stomping to get our attention. The sound of him playing with his toys should be the best sound in the world..however, its not for me..all i hear is his whaling of frustration and yelling instead of talking. It’s very discouraging and stressful.

Back to tonight and working on Devo…I found some wonderful passages that reminded me that I don’t have to have it all figured out today, I don’t have to worry about Caleb and his speech (I start sign language class in a week or so) I just have to trust God with it all. Even a girl from the dorm told me today not to worry…she’s so smart.

For anyone who feels uncertain or discouraged…read on..May you be as blessed as I was to be reminded that God is so much bigger than all of this!

Psalm 121: 3-8

“He will not let your foot slip–He who watches over you will not slumber; indeed, he who watches over Israel will neither slumber nor sleep.

The LORD watches over you–the LORD is your shade at your right hand; the sum will not harm you by day nor the moon by night.

The LORD will keep you from harm–he will watch over your life; the LORD will watch over your coming and going both now and forevermore.”

Proverbs 3:5-6

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.”

Philippians 4: 6-7

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace that transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

1 Peter 5:6- 7

Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time. Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.”

 

God Bless!

3 thoughts on “Encouragement when I just don’t feel encouraged…”

  1. “God will make a way
    Where there seems to be no way
    He works in ways we cannot see
    He will make a way for me
    He will be my guide
    Hold me closely to His side
    With love and strength
    For each new day
    He will make a way
    He will make a way

    By a roadway in the wilderness
    He’ll lead me
    And rivers in the desert will I see
    Heaven and earth will fade
    But His Word will still remain
    He will do something new today”

    love you Jenn, you are an encouragement to me and many others.

    Bonnie

  2. Thanks for this encouragement. . . something I am needing a lot of lately. I think our burden of finding an option for Camden to finish his high school, is a much smaller burden than all that you carry. I cannot tell you how much your dorm mom duties have meant to our family. I cannot tell you how thankful I have been that you were there in the dorm. I used to wonder if you ever thought of leaving, and I panicked, because I felt so much peace about you being there. I just wanted you to know that Scott and I have been very thankful for you!! I love you and we will certainly be praying for your family.

    1. Thank you Michelle….
      Sadly I have thought about finishing up, it’s not an easy job and some days are harder than others. But the kids are so worth the pain and stress at the end of the day. I’m thankful to be here. Thank you for your encouragement and prayers! I love you guys to! Very much!

Leave a Reply

