The Road Home

There is one “s” in Desert and two sets of Footprints

  It’s no secret that the desert is not a fun place..especially if you are alone.  It’s hot, dry, goes on forever and will suck the life right out of you.  I can imagine that one would begin to see and hear things the longer you are out there.  I cannot imagine, however, ever being in an actual desert long enough for those things to happen…or can I?

I have walked through more deserts…figuratively speaking…than I care to admit.  I end up there by my own doing, of course, but that doesn’t make it any easier.  By now I imagine your scratching your head and wondering what in the world I’m talking about, that’s ok.  Until someone explained this position to me I had no idea either…

  

The desert, in my life, is that place where I feel totaly cut off from God.  Maybe I have stopped reading my bible, praying, seeking His will..all things, when not done, leave me feeling empty and wanting.  So I wonder around looking for something to satisfy me…more money, more free time, more friends, more “things” that will fill that hole in my chest.  The longer I wonder, the more I hear things that make me feel guilty and unworthy of God’s love and I get further away from the truth.  It’s a scary place in the wilderness.

Little do I realize, at first, that all I have to do is turn around, pick up my bible, pray, talk to a brother or sister in Christ, look at my son, God is right there with me.  That second set of foot prints that fall slightly behind mine in the sand.  He’s right there waiting to help carry my pain, stress, frustrations, sadness, guilt, worry or even just me–broken and weary.  

The poem “Footprints” explains very clearly…”The years when you have seen only one set of footprints, my child, is when I carried you” (Mary Stevenson)  To get to that one set of foot prints, I have to actually stop walking long enough for Him to catch me when I fall down instead of my trying to carry myself all the time.


I’m not a professional blogger by any stretch of the imagination.  But I am hoping that some of my struggles and victories will give even one person hope and a renewed faith in God…or even a FAITH in God.  John 10:10 states that Jesus has “come so that they may have life, and have it to the full”  I want that life back…The desert isn’t fun anymore.


~J

Leave a Reply

